"Wir hatten eine großzügige Wohnung, die für zwei Personen alles für einen Urlaub Notwendige bot." Bernhard

+weiterlesen mitteilungen

Spinalonga Geschichte
und Leprapatiente.

Auf den Ueberresten einer altertuemlichen Burg bauten die Venezianer eine Festung mit dem  System der Verschanzung.Die Arbeiten begannen 1579 mit Plaenen des Ingenieurs Genese Bresani und der erste Teil der Bauarbeiten dauerte bis 1586.Verbesserungen und Aenderungen an dem Bau gab es vor und waehrend des kretischen Krieges[1645-1669] In der Periode der venezianischen Gesetzgebung wurde der Bau fuer militaerische Zwecke verwendet.

Geschichte der Spinalonga

Waehrend des kretischen Krieges[1645-1669] benutzten Fluechtlinge und Rebellen [Chainides] das Gelaende um gegen die Tuerken zu kaempfen.Nach einem Ueberfall im Jahr 1715 uebernehmen die Tuerken die Macht. Die Venezianer ziehen sich zurueck und die andern Bewohner werden festgenommen.Nach 1715 verwandelt sich Spinalonga in eine ottomanische Niederlassung.Durch die Sicherheit,die der starke Bau darbot, konnte er weiter ausgebaut werden.

Spinalonga die Leprapatiente

Im Jahr 1903 gruendete die kretische Regierung auf der Insel Spinalonga ein Heim fuer Leprakranke das bis 1957 bestand. Es gab Aerzte, Krankenpfleger,Aufsichtspersonal,Finanzverwaltung und einen Priester.Die Patiente wohnten in den tuerkischen Bauten und in neuen Haeusern,die im 30.

"What we enjoyed about Athina Villas was Manolis. His hospitality and kindness made our trip fantastic." Michael

+read more reviews

Spinalonga , the island, the history
and the leprocy

On the ruins of an ancient castle. the Venetians erected a strong fortress, the design of which was based on the principles of the “bastioned fortification” system. Construction of it began in 1579 to drawings by the engineer Genese Bressani, and the first building phase lasted until 1586. Repairs and modifications to the fortress were carried out before and during the Cretan war (1645-1669). During the period of Venetian rule on Crete, the fortress was used for military purposes.

Spinalonga history

At the time of the Cretan war (1645-1669) refugees and rebels (chainides) took refuge in the fortress and used the islet as a base from which to harass the Turks. The islet finally surrendered to the Turks after a siege in 1715. The Venetian garrison departed and the rest of the inhabitants were taken prisoner. After 1715 Spinalonga developed into a purely Ottoman settlement. Benefitting from the security offered by the fortifications, the Turks continued to build on the Venetian foundations.

Spinalonga leper colony

In the 1903 the Cretan Government established a leper colony on Spinalonga, which remained in operation until 1957. The old buildings of the Turkish settlement and additional buildings erected during the 1930 offered a home to the sick. Furthermore the colony had its own medical director, nursing staff, supervisor, cleaners, financial service, and a priest.